Preparing for 21 Days {or, Where do I even start?}

Tomorrow, I start a 21 Day Challenge toward being a more disciplined wife, mommy, homemaker, volunteer, and blogger. I started brainstorming all the things I am hoping to accomplish. The list included the following one day, one week, and 21-day nightmares challenges:

  • Get dressed everyday, including some make-up and jewelry
  • Organize Adelaide’s changing table
  • Wipe down washer & dryer
  • Put away laundry immediately after folding it
  • Hang my keys on the key rack
  • Find a home for my purse and always keep it there
  • Find a home for carseat and diaper bags and keep them there
  • Dust {bleh}
  • Vacuum everyday…Adelaide is spending more time on the floor
  • Go to bed with a semi-clean house every night
  • Sell items we don’t need to pay for Adelaide’s medical bills
  • Make a traveling time-out mat for Graham
  • Complete Adelaide’s room – our almost 11-month-old daughter’s room is still a work in progress
  • Complete our room – Dave and I moved into the smallest room in the house to turn our Master into a double nursery
  • Be on time. Snort.
  • Choose, edit, and print photos for all the empty frames in our house
  • Backup all files on my computer, then wipe it clean, and start over. It is second-hand and needs an overhaul.
  • Complete the kids’ baby books. Yes, Graham is three.
  • Read. I love to read. I am currently reading 15 books. I just want to finish some of them.
  • Plan Adelaide’s birthday party.
  • Print Adelaide’s birth announcements. Yes, you read that right.

Needless to say, the list is overwhelming…and I didn’t include everything. The 21 Day Challenge will force me to narrow my options, choose do-able tasks, and focus on training myself to form good habits. I was, once upon a time, a very organized person. Now, I am a Mommy to a strong-willed 3-year-old and an 11-month-old with disabilities and I live in my pajamas…surrounded by load upon load of clean laundry.

If you want to join me, you can purchase Crystal Paine’s book on Amazon. Or, you can just read about my journey to becoming a more disciplined person and laugh. “Does she really need to put ‘getting dressed’ on a to-do list?” Yes. Yes, I do.

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “Preparing for 21 Days {or, Where do I even start?}

  1. I think you are too hard on yourself!!!! You have a teeny weeny and a 3 year old. You are still in a fog! How about 21 days of giving yourself grace! LOVE YOU!!

    Like

  2. Melinda says:

    I’m looking forward to following along with your challenge. You have quite the list of goals!

    Like

    • lyndseballew says:

      Hi Melinda! Those were all my goals from the entire year…that were still waiting to be finished. I am starting them now, and then scooting them to the 2013 calendar. I am hoping to get a bit finished. How about you? What are your goals?

      Like

  3. So glad you’re joining us for the challenge! That’s an ambitious list of goals, but I’m sure you can do it, one task at a time.

    Like

  4. Lacey says:

    I can totally relate to a lot of these:)

    Like

  5. […] Preparing for 21 Days {or where do I even start?} […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

