Day 1: Choices, Choices, Choices

Today is November 1st…the official start to the 21 Day Self-Discipline Challenge!

My first task: tackle a small project.

As I looked at my list, I saw several items that could be completed in fewer than 30 minutes. So many choices! I decided to put away all the clean laundry. All 8 loads. Why? Because it is taking over the living room. *Some* of it is pictured here…

Before

I started and finished…despite several distractions. Graham needed me to find his How to Train Your Dragon hat, watch him pee, start VeggieTales, and last, but not least, listen to a story about a robot. Bless Dave for getting Adelaide ready for bed. Here is the living room just 19 minutes later…

After

My second task: choose a Mega Project to break into 21 chunks and complete in 21 days.

Choices, Choices, Choices! I have so many potential projects. Do I choose something fun? Something pressing? Something I know I can finish? Something that is extremely challenging? Something at all? {Because I thought about just giving up…}

After lots of thought, and some prayer, I have decided to finish our bedroom. Dave and I moved from the Master Bedroom to the smallest coziest bedroom, in order to turn the Master into a double nursery for Adelaide and a future sibling. During the move, we completed approximately 88.6%…give or take a tenth. I have broken the remaining 21.4% (Yes, we are giving 110%. It works in the sports world…) into 21 tasks. I will not be assigning tasks to a specific day, but will choose the task that fits into each day. So, in no particular order, I present 21 tasks…well, 20. My first task was to make the list.

  1. pin our king-sized skirt to our queen-sized boxspring
  2. hang red shelves
  3. hang curtain rods and curtains
  4. choose, edit, and print 5 photos for the empty frames
  5. hang Ansel Adams prints
  6. hang Casablanca poster
  7. clean all furniture
  8. hang mirror
  9. clean window sills
  10. purge dresser drawers
  11. organize dresser drawers
  12. purge & organize jewelry armoire
  13. fix tops of canopy posts
  14. clean large mirror
  15. get candles for candleholder
  16. clean ceiling fan
  17. deodorize mattress
  18. dust
  19. clean baseboards
  20. vacuum

Not too exciting, but I am pretty sure I can do it!Β  At least 88.6% sure…

Do you have a 21 Day MEGA Project? Please share in the comments.

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Day 1: Choices, Choices, Choices

  1. Kayla Frerer says:

    You may have just inspired me to start a 21 day project challenge!! First on my list, actually start said challenge! :)

    Like

  2. Sheryl says:

    I have had fabric for making bedroom curtains for two years now, and it is still at the bottom of the to-do list. Oh well. Can’t wait to see your before and after photos!

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

