Day 2: Mother of Invention!

We are often late. Even if I am determined to be early, we still end up being late. Once, we left almost 20 minutes early for church, only to discover that I had forgotten the Medela nipple for Adelaide’s pumped bottle. {I pump on the way to church…it is about the only time I pump all week.} We stopped at Target to buy a nipple, which they didn’t have, and ended up buying an entire bottle. It was a Playtex Vent-Aire. Bleh. I was upset that I had wasted a few dollars. I was upset that I was not better at getting out the door on time. And we were late for church.

Since the Medela Fiasco of 2012, I pack the bottle, nipple, and nursing cover into Adelaide’s diaper bag on Saturday night. I keep the pump bag in the car, since Sunday is my Freestyle’s time to shine! I put both Graham and Adelaide’s bags next to the door. I prepare Graham’s milk cooler. I have everyone’s clothes ready to go. Then, I oversleep on Sunday morning. I wake up scared (I always have that dream. The one where you have been getting ready all along.) I manage to get everyone ready in fewer than 20 minutes. Somehow, we are still late, because I can’t find the keys or my purse.

One of my “Before I Turn 30” Goals: Be consistently early – or at least on time. I was raised by people who were always early or on time. I don’t remember my parents being late for anything. My mom had 6 kids before she was 30…and we were still always early for church.

In Chapter 2 of Crystal Paine’s book, 21 Days to a More Disciplined Lifeshe challenged me to make a small change. The key: changing slowly and consistently will make a change more likely to stick. Spend a week doing that one thing. Keep doing it until it sticks.

I chose placing my keys on the key rack and keeping my purse in a designated spot. As Crystal says, it is a “small habit with a big pay-off.” I believe it is a stepping stone to a better Sunday Morning…if I can stop sleeping through my alarm.

Now, on to Day 2 of my 21 Day MEGA project! I chose one of the simplest tasks, since we had a rough Friday. I decided to clean the mirror. Then, I realized we were out of window cleaner and paper towels. It was already 11:30. Was I really going to mess up the challenge on the second day? I remembered our book about homemade cleaners. I would just make some. I was, of course, missing half the ingredients. I had already invested too much time into making this whole ‘mirror thing’ work, so I decided to make up my own recipe.

I grabbed an old vinegar bottle, added 8 pumps of hand sanitizer, 1/4 cup of ammonia, 3 pumps of liquid soap, and filled the rest with warm water. I shook it like a Polaroid picture, and headed for a mirror.

Then, I remembered we were out of paper towels, so I grabbed some of our wedding napkins. From 2006. Have I mentioned I have a hard time letting go of things?

It worked!

Why stop with our bedroom mirror? How about the bathroom? Graham’s room? The living room?

How was Day 2 of your challenge? Are you an early/on time/late person? Please share in the comments…I would love to hear from you.

21 Days to a More Disciplined Lyndse {And You, if You Join Me!}

Preparing for 21 Days {or where do I even start?}

Day 1: Choices, Choices, Choices!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Day 2: Mother of Invention!

  1. […] remember when I had instituted a designated key spot. Then, I remembered that I had actually written a blog post about the key hook! I also remembered that I had quit that blogging challenge after a few days. Which reminded me that […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

