Goals {and a fun little experiment}

*My U key is working less than half the time. You don’t realize how many times you use it, until it is misbehaving.*

Goal: Get down to my wedding day weight by June 10, 2013 {our 7th anniversary}. 

This week, I jumped on the scale and discovered that I had reached my goal early. This is the second time this year I have reached my weight-loss goal before my self-imposed deadline. My original goal for 2012: Get down to my pre-pregnancy weight by December 31st. I did it August 20th! Who would’ve thought it would happen twice in one year?

I decided to look back at our honeymoon pictures to see how the same weight looks different after two kids. Two c-sections. Two breastfeeding journeys…Adelaide is still going strong at 11+ months. I also just enjoy looking at our honeymoon photos. A month in Denver. {contented sigh} Someday, I will write a post about our honeymoon, but here are a few of my favorite photos of myself that Dave took. That sounds vain, doesn’t it? I think every woman has (or should have) photos of herself she just loves. I think I also adore them, because I remember Dave’s face as we got onto that elevator. He thought I was the most gorgeous woman alive. I didn’t even know about the second photo until we were home.

Back from that rabbit trail.

I was disturbed elated to realize that I still own my Hard Rock Denver shirt. It is in several photos. I wore it to Red Rocks…one of my favorite places in the whole wide world. It has spent more than 5 years in the bottom of a drawer. {I couldn’t part with it…once a Colorado Girl, always a Colorado Girl.} I do remember squeezing into wearing it last month to run some errands with the babies. It made an appearance at Aldi to snag some Produce Picks, then went back in the bottom of the drawer…after it sat in the clean laundry pile for almost 8 days. It’s freedom was short-lived, because it was close to impossible to nurse in something that snug.

So, today, I rescued it from the drawer. I put it on, and thought, “I should do a quick side-by-side!” After 27 attempts with a 10 second timer, this was the best I could get. My project took a bit longer than I had hoped, but it was fun. Graham was entertained. Isn’t that the most important thing? If you have a strong-willed 3-year-old, you are emphatically shaking your head up and down in agreement.

A quick side-by-side. June 2006 and November 2012.

So, I am once again 155 lbs, even though I am carrying it differently. I have only two children, but somehow bear the stretchmarks of a woman with sextuplets. My upper body has changed size, and I have a “nursing reserve”…aka muffin top…to keep Adelaide fed for several days in an emergency situation. I am actually pleased with how I look…today. (Who knows about tomorrow. Body image is a struggle for me…and about 5 bagillion other women.) More importantly, I am stronger than I was 6 years ago. I can carry a sleeping 36 lb toddler, a 16 lb baby in her carrier, two diaper bags, a soft cooler, my purse, and do it all while jogging in the rain to a vehicle. I have done it. And I felt amazing afterward. The thinner chick on the left couldn’t have done that. No way.

So, what’s next?

Goal: Get down to my engagement day weight by August, 2013 {the 9th anniversary}.

I still own that dress, which I squeezed into wore for about 15 minutes and felt like I was walking the red carpet. I am only 10 lbs from that goal. I have 9 months. I promise a quick side-by-side when that goal is reached…which I hope is earlier than planned. Maybe I could wear this dress for our 7th anniversary in June? There is a story behind this dress, but that is for another post.

Have you reached any goals earlier than expected? Do you have a piece of clothing hiding in a drawer? Please share in the comments.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Goals {and a fun little experiment}

  1. […] the way, my weight loss goal for this year is to shed another 20 pounds…even though Graham won’t even notice. ; […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

