Find Great Jeans {a lofty goal}

“Fashion is architecture. It is a matter of proportions.” Coco Chanel

I bought jeans. Great jeans. After Saturday’s attempt, I didn’t think it was possible to find jeans for my shape. But, alas, I am now the proud owner of a fantastic pair of jeans.

Today, my mom asked if she could watch Graham while I went jeans shopping. I was on a game show and all the lights and sirens went off. Balloons fell from the sky. I was the winner. A chance to shop sans toddler. It was the prize behind Door #3.

I decided to visit a store in Joplin that sells name brand clothes at 75% off or more. My goal: find boot cut, low-rise, with back pockets. Apparently, these are the jeans I am supposed to be wearing. (That is what the introweb says.) I tried on 24 pair fitting this description. {Ok, I admit there was 1 pair of skinny jeans in there, but just to see if the upside-down Hershey Kiss look was just a figment of my imagination. Nope. I looked like Gru from Despicable Me.} After the 8th pair, I was discouraged. Maybe I was the person who chooses Door #2, only to discover that I have won a set of pots and pans. I don’t cook. Oops, I guess you just learned my secret. My husband does most of the cooking in our house.

Back to the jeans: I kept pressing on. Pair after pair. Then, I tried on THE pair. I squealed a bit, because I looked so good. Actually, I looked great. I am just going to say it, at the risk of looking like a vain person. I looked amazing.

I stood there, admiring myself in the mirror. I liked what I saw. They were low-rise, but not too low. They were hugging my curves, but not too tight. The back pockets gave the illusion that I have a backside. The length was perfect. The boot cut balanced out my round middle. The color looked like something Audrey Hepburn would wear.

They were beautiful. And they were mine. I took them to the register, after combing the store for another pair, and set them on the counter with confidence. The sales associate told me they had just arrived the night before. There was only one pair in the entire store. They were originally $60, but were on sale for $15.

Ann Taylor Loft Curvy Boot Cut Size 8, how I love thee.

front

side

PS: I took 15 pictures of my backside, but couldn’t bring myself to load any of them…it felt like something I would regret when Adelaide ran for President someday.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Find Great Jeans {a lofty goal}

  1. They DO look perfect!! I think I must give up too easily when shopping for jeans. That’s one of my goals for my Christmas money! :)
    So glad I came across your blog today! I’m your newest subscriber! :)

    • lyndseballew says:

      Thanks! I am so pleased with them! Glad to have you…and please come back and share what you find with your Christmas money! I am going to use any I get to buy a new nursing bra.

  2. Courtney says:

    Did you go to Plato’s Closet? I’ve really been wanting to check that place out but haven’t found the time yet. Obviously it was worth the stop! What else did they have besides jeans?

  3. Kristi says:

    Ross Dress for Less is also a great place to find good deals! :) Nursing bras and jeans – under one roof. Who knew.

  4. […] Do you remember when I discovered that I was an apple shape and swore off skinny jeans? And when I found the curvy bootcuts I loved, that are now way too […]

  5. […] It was amazing. But even the clothes that fit really well still sometimes looked horrible on me. I had followed all the body shape fits, but couldn’t figure out why I still looked like I was wearing borrowed clothes. And then my […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

