52 & 7 Challenge {aka I think Jon Acuff has a good idea}

Jon Acuff challenged his readers to give up New Year’s Resolutions and try something new. Since I completed only 1 of last year’s goals {lose 20 pounds}, I was ready for a different approach to this whole planning out your entire year thing.

The challenge: set mini-goals for 52 days at a time. That way, you can adjust throughout the year.

2012 taught me that things change. Quickly.

In January, I was caring for a 3 week old baby girl. I set goals like everyone else. Something about scrapbooking, and losing  baby weight, and organizing every nook and cranny. My goals were completely abandoned when we learned that Adelaide had a cyst in her brain and may never walk. Then, medical bills started flooding in. Oh, and Graham regressed {for the umpteenth time} in the pottytraining department. He is still not pottytrained…14 months later.

So, I am trying this 52 day business. Honestly, that may still be too long, but I think it will work for me. I probably included too many things in my first set of mini-goals, but I am feeling pretty optimistic and energetic today. If I finish them, great. If I don’t, well, I am showing myself grace. Even though God gave me the words Creativity and Inventiveness for my 2013 focus, I think Grace and Rest are going to be evident in all I do. Here is the list of things I would like to do in the first 52 days…

Financial:

Go on a non-essentials spending freeze in order to pay toward Adelaide’s 2012 medical bills. {This will require a lot of creativity and inventiveness.}

Physical:

Work out at least 300 minutes a week.

Drink 8 glasses of water each day.

Social:

Have at least 1 playdate every 2 weeks.

Stop checking my social apps while I am with real people. {Ouch. This one was hard to type…}

Mental:

Read 1 new book every two weeks.

Write, edit, and publish at least 2 blog posts per week.

Career:

List at least 3 new items each week in the eBay store.

Load cover photos for Little House in the City Facebook page and personal Twitter page.

Family:

Continue weekly family nights and in-home date nights.

Choose and print 2 photos each week for the Family Tree frame.

Spiritual:

Read the first 52 days of my One Year Bible for all 52 days.

Finish all 19 days of She Reads Truth: Fresh Start.

More importantly, I am praying that God shows me each day what He wants me to do. How are you approaching resolutions and goals this year? Please share in the comments!
 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “52 & 7 Challenge {aka I think Jon Acuff has a good idea}

  1. Lauren Bee says:

    I know exactly what you mean about needing to get off my phone/computer and quit reading about others’ lives and start living my own life! Thanks for being so bold as to put that out there.

    Like

    • lyndseballew says:

      It was embarrassing to even admit, but I know it is a problem for me. In addition to being rude to everyone around me, I also find myself slipping into a funk if I spend too much time inundated with social media. I am so bad at comparing myself to others.

      Like

  2. Sarah says:

    You are SO RIGHT about the social media thing… oof.

    Like

  3. […] are welcome to read about it here and here. But, it’s pretty […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

