Five Minute Friday {Opportunity}

Lisa-Jo Baker and her Five Minute Friday are back for 2013! I am blessed by this project. Join me…

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community...

Recently, I have been faced with the opportunity to actually live out several verses. The ones about rejoicing. I haven’t felt much like rejoicing lately. December was full of tough news, disappointments, setbacks, hours on the phone and computer setting up appointments, and feeling like the mom who couldn’t do anything I wanted to do. You know the stuff we moms want to do. Our Pinterest boards are full of those things. Pancakes shaped like snowmen. His scarf would be made of bacon and he would have chocolate chip buttons. We totally celebrated Jesus, but all the “trappings” were lost in the shuffle this year. Even the Jesus-centered ones. We weren’t able to do Truth in the Tinsel this year. I forgot to open our nativity books that were helping us count down. Our Advent word wall was just the alphabet. All.Month.Long. Instead of enjoying my favorite things: wrapping gifts, decorating, making surprises for our neighbors, doing crafts, and tweezing my eyebrows {yes, that is now a luxury I reserve for holidays}, I was being forced to reevaluate how much I actually trust God to get me through hard times. And how much I am willing to follow His commands…even the really tough ones. To fill my heart with joy and rejoicing in the midst of so much bleh. Rejoicing. It isn’t just reserved for those who are flying high in those awesome moments. God commands us to rejoice with those who are rejoicing (Romans 12:15). He doesn’t say to rejoice with those who are rejoicing when we feel like it. I think that last part is often added by us…because it is easier. It is easier to be happy for someone when you are also happy. But, God has given me several tough opportunities to rejoice when I feel like weeping. The opportunity to congratulate the people whose babies are meeting their milestones {ones who are doing it effortlessly and others after grueling months of therapy}, while  being told my daughter will not crawl until she is 3 years old. May never walk without braces and a walker. The opportunity to rejoice with couples who got all their debt paid off, while we are just praying God will give us what we need and help us creatively make this thing work. Co-pay after co-pay. The opportunity to rejoice with anyone on the days when pajamas and Bleak House match my mood better than a pretty scarf and the Music Man. I am blessed by these opportunities to live out the verses I memorized when everything was easier and happier and scarfier {expect to see that word added to the OED any day now}. My biggest prayer is that God will grow me so much, that people aren’t afraid to share their rejoice-y moments with me when I seem weepy. I DO NOT want to become that person. But the flip side is also true. May I never become the person who forgets about the weeping and can’t be a shoulder for someone else. Who, in my moments of rejoicing, forgets that everyone has something in the weeping column. What an opportunity to show Jesus’ love to someone. He knew a few things about weeping and rejoicing.

Time’s up.

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {Opportunity}

  1. Nancy says:

    Linking up from FMF. Great post! 2012 was crappy for me, too. It takes extra effort to rejoice when your world is falling apart, but that is what He demands from us. I’m doing both the One Word and Joy Dare challenges this year, and I’m ready to move on into whatever phase of my life is next. Rejoice is a good word to also add to my bulletin board!

    Like

  2. Lesley W says:

    I have noticed you seizing the opportunity to rejoice with others. I feel like, in a sense, you are choosing the higher road. Keep it up, Lyndse!

    Like

  3. […] letters from last year’s Advent Word Wall. {Which we never completed, but we have enjoyed this alphabet board all year. Side note: Dave sure knows how to make scrap […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

