Some music videos & verses & words {2013}

Expectations. Consistency. Comparison. Creativity. Inventiveness.

These have been my focus words for the past few years. It is not like they magically end {or start} as soon as I flip the calendar page. (We don’t even have a family calendar.) But I do see them as vital during certain seasons. They drift together, but sometimes one will take the lead for awhile.

This year, I know that God has given me the last two in that beautiful list as encouragement. They are full of newness. Promise. Creativity & Inventiveness. They seem like synonyms, but I can see how God is going to use in them in different arenas of my life.

This past year was tough. And amazing. And brilliant. And stretching. This new year, I am praying that God teaches me to have joy through all necessary trials. Real joy in all He blesses me with and teaches me through. He is guiding me.

In the past, I have allowed God to do heart surgery in some serious areas. I didn’t even realize He was preparing me for things until they were right above me. Saying they would crush me. I knew they couldn’t conquer, because God’s Word says they can’t. I am still standing on truths about His Expectations trumping mine, as He places new Expectations in my heart everyday. That was not just a lesson from 2011. I know that He is teaching me to be more Consistent in everything I do. I am going to be a homeschooling mom this year. Like officially. {heart pounding} Comparison didn’t end in 2012. It is a part of my personality that I place on an altar. Every single day. I have hope that it will not always affect me…right now, it is in the forefront of my mind. And speech. And attitude. But Creativity and Inventiveness? Well, they seem to be less about heart surgery and more about JOY. About trusting God to give me ideas. Ways to navigate our family through these growing times. Times to create with my own hands. To string together words into semi-coherent blog posts. To invent ways to do more with less. Or do less with more intentionality.

Last year, God also gave me a verse.

The Lord your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.
Zephaniah 3:17
He isn’t done using this verse. I know this verse is going to be an important part of me for a long time. Maybe until I die. Or Jesus comes back for His bride. I can just feel it.
Well, God has given me a verse for 2013. {It may extend beyond that. I just don’t know.}
“The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.”
Exodus 14:14
Other versions say, “Just stay calm.”
It is pretty clear that God is telling me something.
I will quiet you.
I will save you.
I will fight for you.
Be calm.
Stay silent.
How do these tie into Creativity and Inventiveness? I have no idea. But I love that they are mine to cherish and recite and stand on during the fat and the lean times.
God also ministers to me through music. I spent most of 2012 bawling to this song. Tears of joy and frustration. I sing at the top of my lungs, “Where are you in my broken heart? Everything seems to fall apart. Everything feels rusted over. Tell me that you’re there.”
A few years back, God gave me this song when my sister-in-law lost her baby while I was at a conference. There was nothing I could do. The worship team played this song, and I just prayed in the Spirit for her. I grieved a niece or nephew I would never hold this side of eternity. Dave and I would lose three nieces or nephews in just a couple of years. This song reminds to me to pray for babies. The ones developing in a womb. The ones waiting for a forever family. The ones in our new hypotonia support group. This song meets me where I am and encourages me like few others do.
Lately, God has been using this song. It definitely ties into the theme of His rescuing me. A mighty warrior and a friend. Isn’t that the most amazing part? I think we often forget that God came to earth to rescue the one He loves. I have nothing to fear. I’m holding onto His promises.
I don’t know what 2013 holds, but God has given me reminders of His love. Faithfulness. Ability. Might. Desire. Protection. Mercy. Freshness.
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Some music videos & verses & words {2013}

  1. […] trips, medical bills, insurance claims, phone calls, and all the processing of emotions. At the beginning of the year, God gave me the words ‘Creativity’ and ‘Inventivenes… I didn’t realize at the time that I would be pregnant again. And needing all the creativity […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

