Case #104: Priceless but Pennyless {and a congratulatory tweet from Jon Acuff}

Last year, Dave and Jim took 1st place at the Discover Downtown 48 Hour Film Competition.

I was proud and thrilled. I told everyone I knew. {I shared that video like it was a 10-year-old’s first chain letter.} But I wasn’t just excited for the guys. I was proud of myself for surviving.

It was my first time alone for a few days with a 2-year-old and 5-month-old. I held down the fort. I kept the home fires burning. I did something else pioneer-ish…probably made bread, but I don’t quite remember.

When we received this congratulatory tweet from Jon Acuff, I felt validated. I had done a good job!

jonacuffmention

Team Sport! And I was on the winning team!

But, in all honesty, I was a wreck of irrational emotions during the filming. And not one person knew it.

Dave was gone. I was totally sleep-deprived. The kids were not feeling well. Graham was in the middle of potty-training. Adelaide was going through a breastfeeding growth spurt. Our house was a mountain of dirty laundry and even dirtier dishes. I broke down in tears several times. I was a one-woman pity party. People thought I was a supportive wife, but I was thinking thoughts. Ones I wouldn’t even text to my best friends. Or my mom.

When did movies become more important than us? Why does he get to live his dream while I breastfeed, wipe up poop, clean loads of spit-up laundry, and get up every 2 hours? Why didn’t he give me a part in the movie?

Yikes. Embarrassing. Not thoughts from a team player. Not even thoughts from a grown-up

I think it is important to remember last year’s trainwreck poor choices as I go into another competition. This time, with a 3-year-old {who is still pooping in his underwear}, a 17-month-old with disabilities, and a 19-week-old Baby Heirloom Tomato. I am still sleep-deprived. Our house is actually in worse shape. I will probably break down in tears. But, the pity party won’t be thrown here. I will choose truth.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Philippians 4:8 (NIV)
Let the games begin…
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Please Share Your Thoughts

