Five Minute Friday {Imagine}

I am raising a strong-willed William. Every day, Wm. Graham pushes me as far as he can possibly push. He uses all his three-year-old might and shoves with reckless abandon. And I get closer and closer to the edge of that cliff. That cliff we call Motherhood. The view is amazingly breath-taking…when you aren’t right on the edge. Holding on with your toes and praying you don’t fall headfirst into a spiral. When you can breathe and enjoy the moments, there is nothing like motherhood. But this strong-willed, creative, passionate, dramatic, loving, disobedient, stubborn, intelligent toddler wants to see how I will react when I am out of the comfortable viewing area and headed toward destruction. He laughs as he watches my toes curl and my arms flail. He snickers as I attempt to balance. Wasn’t I just near that machine that eats quarters and promises spectacular sights from a safe distance? And so I cry out to God. With exhausted toes so curled they can’t hang on any longer. I beg for just 1 more inch of grace. A 1/2 inch of empathy. Or a 1/4 inch of understanding. Please grant me 2 1/8 inches of kind words. When I want to scream. Cry. Hide. Jump? And the Lord gives me a yard. A few inches at a time. And I lie down next to this child’s bed, all 5 feet 6 1/2 inches of me stretched out and still praying as he sleeps. I can’t imagine even one day without him.

Time’s Up!

 

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {Imagine}

  1. Mel says:

    I love this…I think you wrote about mommyhood with such a beautiful, honest, perspective. “The view is amazingly breath-taking…when you aren’t right on the edge.” Yes…how often we find ourselves begging for that extra inch of grace or compassion or patience. And, yet, we wouldn’t trade the view for anything because we know He will give what we need. I love this…I get it. Thank you for sharing your heart. Happy Friday to you! :)

    Like

  2. Oh it is so exhausting, but yes, so worth it. The Lord supplies!

    Like

  3. Barbie says:

    This is beautiful. I remember those challenging days when mine were small. Now, having adult children and pre-teens, I think I need longer toes! Blessings!

    Like

  4. Julie says:

    Wow! Beautifully written!

    Like

  5. Fantastic! These are definitely the moments of motherhood. I feel ya on this one. It’s a daily struggle but the reward is amazing. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  6. Andi says:

    Oh those moments of insanity these sweet littles bring is torture and bliss all rolled into one. You are doing amazing!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Like

  7. Melissa Dunson says:

    Thank you for writing this. Seriously. Samuel is only 15 months old, but already he is a strong-willed William. It can be hard. Especially when so many of your other mom friends have lovely, dainty, obedient, mellow children, and your’s is…. well, trying to end their own life in some grand adventure while destroying everything in sight in the process… or something like that. Thank you for being honest about that difficult mix of loving them and simultaneously imagining putting them in a dog kennel for a large part of the day. And thank you for always pointing to Jesus. His grace is sufficient and He can sympathize with all my weaknesses and promised He gave me power on the inside to be a patient, loving, non-crazy mommy if I will keep leaning into Him. Anyway, thank you for always being honest and yet full of praise — reminds me of the psalmist. It is always an encouragement to me :)

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

