Five Minute Friday {Rhythm}

I have two ‘out-of-the-box’ kids. And I am pregnant with another child. One who could be a billion different things. Passive, aggressive, or both. Compliant or strong-willed. Developing along with the norm or having special needs. The ultrasound didn’t tell us much. She is a girl. With long legs. Her organs look good. We don’t get to know anything else until she is here and showing us her personality and abilities. We know that we already love her. And Graham decided that she is no longer a shark, but a penguin. I am wondering if she will be a good swimmer…

I have been begging God for the ability to handle one more child in the mix. Just recently, someone told me she didn’t think I could handle three children. Some days, I agree with her. Especially on the days when I am completely emptied before lunch. Or before mid-morning snack. Other days, I realize that it doesn’t matter if she {or I} think I can’t do it. Because it needs to be done. And I will do it. And I have been chosen for the task. And Scripture tells me over and over again that I am not doing this alone.

Lately, I have been reading everything I can find on balance. My relationship with God, my marriage, the babies, our schedule, this house, our budget, & my ever-growing desire for freezer chocolate. Each Bible Study or book or article or blog post has pointed me to truths. To Scripture about what God wants for the Ballews. We are growing.

Today is the first day of summer. On the last day of summer, we will add a child to our family tree.

One season left to prepare for this blessing.

This week, I am feeling more competent as a mom. Not because our house has been clean the entire week. Or because Adelaide has achieved some motor skill milestones. Or even because my family eats well. Those are good things. But, I feel like a competent mom because I am realizing that I am doing my part. I am praying over my kids. I am pointing them to Jesus. I am caring for them. I am doing my best to keep them safe and healthy. I am taking time for myself, to ensure that I am refreshed and ready. God is doing a work in me. He says, “You can do this. I am here. I have been here all along. I will never leave you. I promise never to forsake you.”

I am waking up with hope and joy and I can see how God is going to add another dancer to our troupe and I will help lead her in the rhythm of the Ballews. Our end of the summer baby girl will fit into our family perfectly. And I will parent her with God’s guidance and some extra freezer chocolate.

Speaking of rhythm…

graham zumba

Graham loves Zumba. On a stepstool. With no pants.

Time’s Up!

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {Rhythm}

  1. Hallo, Little House in the City. The rhythm you dance to, very different from mine. Like you cannot get ‘out’, I cannot get ‘off’ but life makes the music we dance to. Graham is so cute. My son is 22 and where you love chocolate, I love chocolate ice-cream, home made, or boat made, my ‘little house on the water’. Have a great weekend and be kind to yourself. With much love from Italy.
    Ciao, Patricia

    Like

  2. Meta says:

    Your post encouraged me to do my first five minute friday. :) even as i was laying in bed eating wheat thins at midnight, i got up to do it. hah!

    but also, i am always amazed at your strength and your attitude and your perspective. knowing i found your blog when i was in a haze of questions about my little girl’s development, and she’s all “normal” now but addy still struggles. It doesn’t seem fair. But then again, life isn’t fair. But you know truth. and you keep your chin up. ANd I know God is using you for great things and building a beautiful family in you. Way to go. Seriously. :) I’ll be saying a prayer for your unborn girl tonight before bed. :) g’nite

    Like

    • Lyndse says:

      Meta,
      I am so glad you did! I really enjoyed reading yours. I rejoice with all your pumpkin’s accomplishments. What a gift!
      Love from Southwest MO!

      Like

  3. Becky says:

    I’m visiting from FMF and I can SO relate to this post! God saw fit to add a baby boy number three to my brood last summer. I remember finding out I was pregnant with this “unexpected blessing” and feeling so overwhelmed and unprepared, questioning how I could take on the needs of another person when there were days when I was floundering to keep myself and my two tiny tots afloat. And in one of those dark moments God gave me these words from Sarah Young’s Jesus Calling Devotional: “Anxiety comes from envisioning the future without me.”

    Yes! That was it! YOU may not be able to handle a third (I wasn’t) but WITH God we are able to do all things! We just celebrated my third little guy’s first birthday and it was as much a celebration for him as it was for me, a year of trusting God and seeing his faithfulness and provision. Turning my motherhood ashes made up of Cheerio crumbs and milk drips into beauty.

    (Wow, didn’t mean to write my own mini blog post in response. But hope it encourages you on the journey and to know that you’re not alone.)

    Thanks for sharing your story.
    Blessings,
    Becky

    Like

  4. Elise says:

    I can’t help but feel anger that someone told you she didn’t think you can handle a third child. You know why I feel that way? Because, obviously, you can. God gave you a 3rd beautiful child to love. And love you do. I’m so sorry that people seem to pick on you. (I’ve never been approached at Wal-Mart for someone to give me parenting advice. That’s just crazy.) You will be an awesome Momma of 3 plus however many you and Dave decide to adopt. Love you girl. You CAN do this.

    Like

  5. […] Graham’s sleep schedule has been completely off since our ER trip early Tuesday morning. So we are using crunchy towels, I just washed diapers at 3 am, and I am realizing that the reality of me actually completing a blogging challenge this month is comical. My blogging challenge is going to be actually posting anything this month. About Adelaide. Or Graham. Or a photo of homemade salsa on Wordless Wednesday. Or a raw Five Minute Friday about how I am about to have more children than I have hands. […]

    Like

  6. […] simultaneously. It’s moments like these when you start to feel like a total failure. When the comments people have made about you not being able to handle three kids feel like the truth. When you want to give up on your ‘no freezer chocolate’ experiment […]

    Like

  7. […] and breastfeeding another. And it seemed like more proof that the lies I kept hearing were truth. I was in over my head. I could barely mother two, but now I would have more kids than hands. I gave into all the comments […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

