Testing. Testing. 1,2,3… {aka Adelaide’s Peabody Update}

“Adelaide tested like a ROCK STAR!” Those were Jennifer’s exact words. And I was glad to hear them, since Adelaide had been vomiting like a rock star just two days before.

A stomach bug. Ugh. The kind that took me hours to clean up. Hours. She covered herself, her Britax Boulevard carseat {which took three washes and two extra rinses to come clean}, my shoes, the yard, and a blanket in vomit. Minutes later, she covered herself in diarrhea. Yeah. So, that was a Sunday night. As I have mentioned before, hypotonic babies and vomit do not mix. There is a lot of choking, aspirating, and serious risk for pneumonia and upper respiratory infections. I was up all but two hours of the night praying for Adelaide’s safety and healing and listening for choking. And thinking, “We are totally not going to be testing on Tuesday.” and also thinking “I really need some different freezer chocolate.” {We are down to generic Easter eggs that taste like chemicals.}

But her fever was gone by Monday afternoon and the diarrhea had stopped. Praise the Lord for an easy recovery…which was only made easier by Adelaide’s personality. Even when sick, she is still the happiest baby in the world. {I mean toddler. I promise to start calling her a toddler when Baby Girl is born.} Unlike Graham, who gets a cold and wants to press that red button that declares nuclear war on the rest of the planet. Adelaide laughs…literally…in the face of sickness!

We went ahead and got up bright and early Tuesday morning and made the, um, 5 minute trek to therapy. {Have I mentioned how blessed we are that Jennifer works in our city? At our local hospital? Minutes away? And always returns phone calls within the hour? I am basically her #1 fan…}

Adelaide was ready to work! And I had prepared myself for the inevitable. I knew that I was not going to make it through assessment without some serious truth intervention. Because I have learned that it is so easy to start telling myself lies. “She hasn’t made enough progress. She will never catch up. She will never sit. Or crawl. Or walk. Or play hopscotch. How I have been dreaming of teaching my daughter to play hopscotch. I haven’t done enough. That’s why she will never play hopscotch. Because she needs a better mom.” All of those thoughts lead me to lots of tears and muttering the word ‘hopscotch’ like an inmate at Arkham Asylum. But not this time! The night before assessments, I started telling myself the truth.Adelaide has made progress in many areas. We don’t know what she will be able to do, but we get closer every day! Hopscotch is easily adaptable. You will teach her to play hopscotch, just like you have taught her to do so many other things. Because you have done enough. And more! You do 7 hours of therapy a week at home with her. You are the Mom God gave to Adelaide.”Β  {Sometimes truth sounds like bragging, but it isn’t bragging…}

We finished the first three parts of the assessment: Locomotor Skills, Stationary Skills, & Reflexes. “Adelaide tested like a ROCK STAR!” And she was covered in sweat from ‘playing’ so hard. And I was not a hot mess. I cried a bit on the way home, but it is hard to watch your little one attempt things three times. Knowing she cannot do it. And realizing her team of doctors thought she would be doing it by now. But, it was just a couple of minutes of tears and then I moved on. {Pretty good for being in my 3rd trimester. Honestly, I think Jennifer thought I would be a sobbing, hormonal mess.}

This morning, we finished the fourth and fifth parts of the assessment: Visual-Motor Integration & Grasping. This was Adelaide’s first time with these assessments. Since we weren’t even sure what she could see back in November, we skipped them.Β  Adelaide did really well in certain areas and completely bombed others. Today was so much easier than last week. I cried exactly three tears. But only because I got in the van and a Sixpence song came on.

“But tension is to be loved when it is like a passing note to a beautiful, beautiful chord.”

Adelaide’s life is a song. Thank you, Lord, for allowing me to hear the notes and the chords. I am so blessed to be her mom.

Here is a section of numbers that give us some information, but don’t define Adelaide in any way. She is so much more than anything scribbled into a Peabody Assessment form. With that being said, I think it is extremely important to know where she is, so we can develop a plan to help Adelaide reach her potential.

Stationary Skills: From November 2012 to July 2013, Adelaide went from the 2nd percentile to the 16th percentile and advanced from a 5 month-old range to a 10 month-old range.

Locomotor Skills: From November 2012 to July 2013, Adelaide stayed in the 1st percentile, but advanced from a 4 month-old range to a 6 month-old range.

Reflexes: From November 2012 to July 2013, Adelaide went from zero postural protective reflexes to having age-appropriate reflexes when falling to the side or falling forward. {Do you also see the word ‘age-appropriate’…because I want to be sure I am not dreaming.} She continues to have zero reflexes when falling backward.

Visual-Motor Integration Skills: In July 2013, Adelaide showed an 11 month-old range.

Grasping: From November 2012 to July 2013, Adelaide went from zero ability to grasp objects to an 11 month-old range.

Object Manipulation: This subtest starts with 12 month-old skills, which Adelaide could not exhibit at this time.

What does it all mean? Well, here are the ‘Excited Mommy’ breakdowns of each section…

Stationary Skills & Reflexes: Yesterday, Adelaide sat up for FOUR minutes while she played with a toy. She was completely unpropped and I was only close enough to catch her if she threw herself backward! She caught herself several times when she fell to the side. She also pushed herself back up after falling on her face! When we started therapy 10 months ago, Adelaide couldn’t even sit for 3 seconds without folding in half, falling over to the side, or throwing herself backward. She still cannot catch herself when she starts to fall backward. Adelaide has also started rolling to the side, propping herself up on her elbow, balancing there, and reaching for toys. This is a major milestone. She is learning the first steps to getting herself into a seated position. So, even though we still have no independent sitting, I am amazed at the progress! And I can’t even stress how exciting it was to hear the word ‘age-appropriate‘ after her reflexes subtest…I keep pinching myself.

Locomotor Skills: Adelaide primarily rolls to get around. Just two weeks ago, she started pivoting on her stomach to get toys within reach. After two days of practicing her new skill, Adelaide was able to pivot a full 360 degrees. Last week, she started pulling her knees up under herself while on her belly. We waited more than year for that milestone. I shed a lot of happy tears that day. Up until that moment, Adelaide’s brain and legs didn’t understand that legs were helpful for mobility. Then, she started lifting her pelvis off the floor while on her back. Another good indicator that her brain and legs were finally figuring things out. Yesterday, she was on her belly and she pulled her knees up under herself AND lifted her bottom up in the air! It almost stopped my heart. For more than a year, I have wanted to see that fluffy bum high in the air! She has done it several times today, and is so proud of herself. Yesterday, she also scooted on her belly! We weren’t expecting that. At all. What an amazing surprise! She scooted almost two inches. She was happy, but then cried. She was scared of her newly discovered strength. Well, she had better get used to it, because I really do believe she will be crawling someday! I don’t know when, but I can feel it in my Mommy heart!

Visual-Integration Motor Skills & Grasping: When we started therapy at 10 months old, Adelaide could not even shake a rattle. Or follow a toy with her eyes. Or move toys across her midline. Today, she was grabbing pegs from pegboards, shaking rattles, transferring blocks from one hand to another, pulling toys by their strings, clapping, banging toys together, and playing with musical toys. I am in the middle of an update about her eye surgery, which I know has made a complete difference in her world.

So, there you have it! An update on Adelaide’s Peabody Developmental Motor Scale Assessment. I am such a special education teacher nerd, because I had a blast watching every step of the test. And Jennifer explained everything to me. I would even write her report for our insurance company, if she would let me! Just teasing. Partially teasing.

We are praising God for Adelaide’s notes and chords.

Oh, and we couldn’t conclude this update without some photos of Miss Adelaide hard at work.

IMG_1222

IMG_1223

IMG_1224

IMG_1737

IMG_1738

IMG_1739

IMG_1740

IMG_1742

IMG_1743

IMG_1838

IMG_1839

IMG_1841

IMG_1842

IMG_1843

By the way, if you enjoyed reading this, you should thank my Mom. She bought Graham a MobiGo on clearance. Today, he was ‘typing’ right along with me. {Ironically, she bought it before reading my post: Teachers Will Hate Your Child.} It kept his attention long enough for me to crank out this post.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Testing. Testing. 1,2,3… {aka Adelaide’s Peabody Update}

  1. BeachChick says:

    Crying for joy… Amazing Adelaide and her super mommy!

    Like

  2. Meta says:

    Tears welled up as I read your assessment results. PRAISE GOD! And Good job mommy!!! :) Go addy, those are beautiful accomplishments.

    Like

  3. […] Up until now, Adelaide has shown no protective postural reflexes when falling backward. Basically, she would just fall backward without even trying to stop herself. At all. She just lacked the ability. This was also the case with her side and front reflexes, but she just recently caught up in those areas. {You can read about it here…} […]

    Like

  4. Tricia McKay says:

    Lyndse, I love you and your family. I pray for you often. Thanks so much for being honest about everything. It makes praying for you and loving you all a joy. God is good. He has a purpose for all of this, as you know. May His Name be glorified through it all.

    Like

  5. […] Three years ago, I learned that my daughter may never play hopscotch. […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

