Five Minute Friday {Present}

Before I was homeschooled, I was that kid in public school who said, “PRESENT!” instead of “here.” I was excited every single day. And I thought it made me sound more like Laura Ingalls. Or Jo March. {We all know they had their ups and downs, but they were enthusiastic and beautiful and wonderful.} But it wasn’t exactly the best way to make friends. And I wasn’t very popular. <—- gross understatement. There was a girl who repeatedly told me I was a snob for saying it. She also said that school was stupid and I was stupid for liking it so much. And she said I only cared about school because I had no friends and I wanted all the teachers to like me. She was a mean girl. {And I wish I knew then what I know now about mean girls.} But I kept up my enthusiasm every morning. Even when I was homeschooled, I used the word ‘present’ for co-op sessions. And when I went to college, I was probably the only American-born student to proudly say, “Present!” in my classes. I was overjoyed by most of my college classes. And I did almost all of the reading. And all of the assignments. {And I was about as popular there as I was in public school. And the mean girls were a lot meaner all grown-up. But their insults were still about their own insecurities…}

I am 10 weeks away from becoming a homeschool mom. As in officially teaching Graham. I have been teaching him since he was in the womb, but now I get to keep track of it! And plan things. {And use all those hours of professional development training in curriculum work to their fullest.} I am giddy about it. Graham is already talking about school and how much fun we will have together. He thinks school is amazing. October marks his 4th birthday, his first month of ‘official’ preschool, and the even more ‘official’ transition from toddler to preschooler. {I know he is technically already a preschooler according to just about every book, blog, and message board in the English-speaking community, but he is still my little toddler right now.} In fewer than three months, we are both getting new titles. I will be a homeschool mom and he will be my homeschooled preschooler.

And even though he will be the only one on my roll, I will still teach him to say, “PRESENT!” with all the joy he can muster.

 

Graham 4th of July

 

Time’s Up!

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {Present}

  1. Awwww. You reminded of how I used to say “here” or “present.” Not too many, if any students do that anymore. What a treasure you have to give to your son – the gift of not being deterred by naysayers. That’s a priceless lesson to learn at such a young age. Go you!!!

    Like

  2. Barbie says:

    Great post! I remember some of my teachers growing up encouraged me to say “present” during roll time, and I would laugh because I thought it was such a big word. Good luck in planning your Homeschool year!

    Like

  3. shortybear says:

    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

