Project Nursery {aka I am no Heidi Klum of interior design…and that’s okay}

I bought a set of elephants for Graham’s nursery. Before he was born. So, more than 4 years ago. They were from Cocalo and I found the entire set for $7 at a discount store! I was going to turn them into Heffalumps. Graham had a Classic Pooh nursery. PS: You can see his Big Boy Room here

Well, I never did anything with them. Not for a lack of good ideas. I had a’plenty! No, it was because I was so afraid I would mess them up.  I am not a perfectionist. I am more of an achiever. I love getting things done. But, there is a part of me that doesn’t want to mess things up. So, I don’t do them. I know it isn’t rational. It is just something I have been working through.

Back to the elephants. Since Graham has lived this long without them, I decided to use them in the double nursery. My mom and I went ahead and put them above the crib, while I brainstormed how I would match them to the room. Paint? Paper? Stencils?

IMG_2026

Part of me thought, “They will never *actually* be completed. If I just leave them up there long enough, they will become a permanent fixture and no one will even notice that they don’t match.” Other days, I would think, “I just need to finish those crazy elephants!

I chose scrapbook paper to complete the elephants. The paper sat in a drawer for almost 6 months. A couple weeks back, I told Dave I was just going to finish them. I took the elephants out of the nursery and placed them in my ‘Things I am Afraid I Will Mess Up’ ‘Project’ basket.

Last night, I told Dave I was too nervous to actually do the project. He offered to do it for me, but I answered, “No, I need to do it myself. I can’t teach Graham that we avoid doing new things, just because we might be bad at them.I took a risk and started the project.

Several hours (way more than I want to acknowledge) later, they were DONE!

IMG_2126

I put them up in Adelaide’s room as soon as we got home from therapy this morning. So lovely!

IMG_2135

IMG_2137

Not bad for some clearance elephants and 60 cents of scrapbook paper…

They aren’t perfect. But they are adorable, and I am very pleased with them. I am, of course, more pleased with myself for stepping out and trying something new. 

I now have some momentum to finish a few other little projects I have been putting off. Time to move some things out of the project basket…

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Project Nursery {aka I am no Heidi Klum of interior design…and that’s okay}

  1. Charline Lewis says:

    You did a stupendous job!! They look great!! I, too, am in the same boat with you. Wish I had more confidence in myself at times!!

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

