Five Minute Friday {small}

A decade ago, I knew I was going to marry Dave Ballew. This summer marked the ten year anniversary of when we first met. Our first date. Our first kiss. As a 20-year-old in college, I would often think about what life would be like when I was 30. I was studying to be a special education teacher. But I knew I would eventually stay home to teach our children. I figured we would have 2 or 3 by now. I didn’t know if I would birth them, or if we would adopt. Or both. I just knew that I was going to be a mom. I have known since before kindergarten. Our third child will be here in 5 weeks. Graham is starting homeschool this autumn. And today, something small happened that has always been a daydream. Just waiting to become reality.

My precious girl played with a dollhouse. For the very first time. Although the situation is not what I had ever envisioned, the feelings were exactly what I had hoped for. All those times of dreaming and praying. As a young girl, and a young teen, and a young 20-something, I often thought about the day my daughter and I would play with a dollhouse. And here I am, a 30-year-old mama playing with little furniture. And my daughter’s petite hands were lovingly placing those beds into the house. And opening doors. And eventually sticking everything in her teething mouth. Because she is 20 months old and chews on tiny chairs. It was a moment I will never forget. Such a small blip in the history of both our lives, but a dream lived out. A dream 25 years in the making.

Time’s Up…

IMG_2352

IMG_2353

IMG_2354

IMG_2356

 

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {small}

  1. Precious memories, treasure each day, for they will pass in the blink of an eye. What a sweet special moment. Thank you for sharing!

    Lord bless…Susan

    Like

  2. […] This is my second FMF about the word ‘small’…last year’s is still one of my most-read and most-shared posts of all time. It was about Adelaide playing with a doll house. You can read it here. […]

    Like

  3. […] to shuffle her feet. Personally, my favorite part is the hand-clapping. Adelaide’s sweet little hands are one of my favorite things in the world. The other night, we were watching something together. […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

