Five Minute Friday {worship}

“God can answer all da prayers from all da people in do whole world. Cuz He God and it Hims job to listen to me. Cuz I Graham. But he listen to ev’rybody else, too. He just a good listener and good prayer God. And I like to talk to him about me. Cuz I Graham. And I know a lot about Jesus and da Bible and all da good and mean people in da Bible.”

Graham has been ‘reading’ his Bible every day. It is actually a Beginner’s Bible Kid-Sized Devotional. He picked it out at Walmart, and Dave and I could not put it back. Graham started reading it in the store and wouldn’t stop. He was amazed that he knew so many of the stories from church. And VeggieTales. And from The Jesus Storybook Bible. When he came across a story he didn’t know, he would just make it up.

Recently, he won’t read it when he knows I am listening. He has become so shy about his Bible reading time. I must be sneaky in order to hear him. He is the same with his worship time. If I am in the kitchen, I can listen to him without him suspecting anything. As I prerinse the dishes {that will only be sanitized in the dishwasher}, my eyes become wet with the tears only a mother can shed when listening to her son sing about Jesus. And, later in the day, as I am drying those same dishes {because our machine stopped drying a few years back}, my cheeks are often soaked more than the tea towel.

Some of my fondest moments of the day are spent in hiding. Eavesdropping on a little boy and his time with God. A little man-to-be learning to worship.

Time’s Up…

 

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {worship}

  1. lonistel says:

    Aren’t those the most precious times when we find our children worshipping God!!! One of my favorites is when my youngest (6) will go in the bathroom at our local Coffee House, and sing a praise song at the top of his lungs! He loves the echo – little does he realize we are all listening throughout the whole house! :)

  2. […] My blogging challenge is going to be actually posting anything this month. About Adelaide. Or Graham. Or a photo of homemade salsa on Wordless Wednesday. Or a raw Five Minute Friday about how I am […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

