Five Minute Friday {true}

I was engaged before Dave. His name was Juan Carlos Bautista. It was kindergarten. It lasted one whole week. I called it off because he and I had very different interests. And I was in love with someone else.

 

“Juan Carlos, I don’t think I can marry you.”

“Why not?”

“Because I love Larry Mullen, Jr. from U2. I have loved him my whole life.”

“What is that? I never heard of that.”

“If you don’t know who U2 is, then we definitely can’t get married. I am sorry.”

 

And I unintentionally made a five-year-old boy sob on a playground in Denver.

True story.

 

Fifteen years later, I ended up meeting a different drummer. He would play airdrums and we would sing Where the Streets Have No Name as we blasted The Joshua Tree and traveled on I-44 the summer before we started dating. The next year, we were engaged. And then he went from fiance to husband on a gorgeous summer day in 2006. And now we have three children. And our 10 year history is riddled with U2 memories. And there will be so many more in our future. Sometimes, I just watch him playing the airdrums in our minivan full of carseats and it takes my breath away thinking how blessed I am to be Mrs. Drummer. And then I breathe deeply and belt out a chorus with my love and our adorable backseat backup singers.

 

 

Time’s Up…

Five Minute Friday

Linking up with Lisa-Jo Baker for Five Minute Friday. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday {true}

  1. Olivia says:

    Visiting from FMF. This made me smile! Great story. Great memories. Great music :)

    Like

  2. Becky says:

    Love it! What a fun memory and reflection on the history of blessings between you and your man and all that wait ahead. Super fun and sweet read. Thanks for sharing. Visiting from FMF.

    Like

  3. […] once told my kindergarten fiance that I wanted to go to college, buy a Bookmobile, have kids, and teach our kids the Dewey Decimal […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

