The Birthday Gift… {aka an Operation Christmas Child tradition}

Every year, we pack Operation Christmas Child shoebox gifts for my Mama’s birthday.

{You can read about past years here. I would highly recommend it, because Adelaide is absolutely adorable packing her first shoeboxes with her Mema.}

Eighteen years ago, I packed my first shoebox with my mom. This year, my mom had the honor of helping Elizabeth Mae pack her very first box!

IMG_3315IMG_3318IMG_3319IMG_3320IMG_3321IMG_3322IMG_3323IMG_3326IMG_3327

Just my opinion, but I think that was a pretty awesome 50th birthday present.

The Ballews are sending 10 boxes this year. We will Follow Our Boxes by paying the $7 per box shipping donation online and receiving a tracking number on our label. When our boxes are delivered, we will get an email telling us which country received them!

Happy Birthday, Mama!

PS: You still have plenty of time to pack your very own OCC shoebox gifts! Pack a shoebox and drop it off at your closest location during National Collection Week: November 18th-25th!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Birthday Gift… {aka an Operation Christmas Child tradition}

  1. […] Remember how we pack Operation Christmas Child shoebox gifts in honor of my Mama’s birthday? {You can read about it here and here…} […]

    Like

  2. Hi, I’m the blog editor for Samaritan’s Purse, and I think this is an awesome blog. Do you think your mother would be interested in writing a blog about why she chose to do shoeboxes for her birthday? Or, if not, I would also be interested in using this one or one similar. Please send me an email at cpardue@samaritan.org if either of you are interested in writing for us. Thanks!

    Like

  3. ohAmanda says:

    I LOVE THIS. That’s what I want to do for my 50th birthday!

    Like

  4. […] year, my kiddos pack Operation Christmas Child shoeboxes with my mom. Mema loves shoeboxes! Instead of gifts on her birthday, she wants to pack gifts for children all over the world. […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

