On Being An Allergy Mom

I do not fit in with the other allergy moms. They have all these acronyms and a jargon that cannot even be googled. I have contributed to zero conversations in our support group. Mainly because Dave and I have not officially tested Bess. All their kids have been tested 99 times and have special doctors and treatments and shots and medicines and bracelets. Oh my goodness, there are so many bracelets. I get so overwhelmed by it all. They are nice people! Please do not confuse my befuddlement with irritation. They are some of the sweetest and most encouraging moms I have met while wasting time on the internet researching ways to survive this thing we call ‘motherhood’… I just have no idea what they are saying.

Why hasn’t Bess been tested? Don’t we want bracelets? We are waiting until she is 12 months old. We are hoping and praying and wishing and dreaming that she outgrows all these allergies/intolerances. Right now, we don’t actually know if she is truly allergic to anything. But we do know that if I eat dairy or eggs or wheat, well, she is a mess. Vomiting, gassing, screaming, crying, and screaming some more. This is in addition to her silent reflux. If I eat cocoa, she is a wreck. Caffeine and artificial sweeteners can be tolerated in small amounts. Graham and Adelaide couldn’t handle any caffeine in my diet at all, so it was a pleasant surprise that Bess could tolerate a bit. But those other things are definite no-nos. Dairy, or milk proteins, of any kind ruin our lives for a couple of days.

So I am on a dairy-free, egg-free, gluten-free diet. And no cocoa. It’s not a big deal, except for all the time. Because I am always reading the labels on everything. And I can’t just enjoy a homemade treat from a friend or family member without grilling someone Jack Bauer style.

“WHAT IS IN THESE? TELL ME! TELL ME! IF YOU CAN’T TELL ME IF THE SMART BALANCE IS WHEY-FREE I WILL KILL YOUR FAMILY!”

(Not all Smart Balance is dairy-free. Just a fun fact for your weekend.)

It also gets a bit more complicated, because I avoid a lot of soy. And things that are free from other things often contain soy. I have a hormonal imbalance, and I just don’t take chances. One year, they say to stay away. The next year, they say it’s okay. I just stick to almond milk and limit my other foods that contain soy {or traces of it}.

I am not going to name names, but a certain *hot* 33-year-old living in this house left out my almond milk. A full carton. As I dumped it down the drain, I was thinking, “I don’t even like it that much, but it’s all I’ve got. This and water.” I almost cried over spilled  milk. In my defense, I had slept fewer than two dozen hours all week. And I had been out for eight hours running errands with the girls on what ended up being a dead-end project. So I wasn’t exactly what you would call a rational person.

“He is an amazing husband and you love him so much. He is a fantastic father to your children.” I was so tired, I actually thought these things. I was calming myself about milk. And even though it’s not cheap, it is completely replaceable. Tomorrow, I will go buy more. I live in a country where I can go buy more after driving just a few minutes. It’s not a big deal at all. I just need to remind myself of that truth in the morning when I open the refrigerator and see that empty place on the bottom shelf. Yes, we are ‘keep your dairy on the bottom shelf’ people…

Creator Unknown

Creator Unknown

 

Wasting food makes me cry. What silly things set you off? I would love to read them in the comments.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “On Being An Allergy Mom

  1. […] butt, triple csection belly, and skinny calves are looking so strange in jeans. I am happy that the byproduct of nursing a child with gluten/dairy/egg/cocoa intolerances was going from size 18 jeans to size 6, but I still don’t know what to […]

    Like

  2. […] food intolerances. Since Bess doesn’t have an anaphylactic reaction to her trigger foods, her intolerances are not always taken seriously. People hear ‘food intolerance’ and think gas, […]

    Like

  3. […] weaned. And it was horrible. She didn’t do well with the almond milk. She went on a drinking strike for almost two days. I was about to start nursing her again, but I […]

    Like

  4. jenz3977 says:

    Socks. Sounds silly, but they BREED and they never travel in pairs

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

