Our Little Doll was Cute as a Button and Turned THREE! {Throwing a Lalaloopsy Party for a toddler with special needs…}

Adelaide’s birthday theme started the day I found a Lalaloopsy doll on clearance for $7. Don’t you love TJMaxx? Adelaide found the doll that night and started talking to her. She even gave Crumbs kisses. Since she doesn’t even kiss me, I realized that a Lalaloopsy party was meant to be! Plus, the phrases ‘cute as a button’ and ‘our little doll’ immediately popped into my head. adelaide birthday blog 17 Four years ago, I found some birth announcements on clearance for $5 a box. Before we were even pregnant with Adelaide. I was so excited to send them, but then completely forgot about them. Because I birthed a baby right before Christmas. Not making excuses…but I quickly learned my limits. And rearranged some priorities. Graham was able to identify all the major characters of the nativity scene that year, so I count it a success! {Yay for Truth in the Tinsel!} Anyway, I was thrilled to find them tucked away in the craft tower all these years later. I found some stickers in the gift container, grabbed the girls’ button jar, and almost forgot to make and send them got to work. We sent these out to our family and I was so very happy with them. They were exactly what I had pictured in my head. Note the crazy lady scrawl. I had a dozen to write and Bess was screaming at the gate. Reflux flare-up and gastro issues and we found out that I had accidentally eaten buttermilk solids in something. I knew that gluten-free pizza crust tasted too good. She looked like a Van Gogh painting. And I was about to cut off my ear. But I finished them! So, I was already ahead of Adelaide’s first birthday. Because I forgot to make and send invitations for that one. adelaide birthday blog 1 adelaide birthday blog 3 I jumped on Pinterest and made myself a promise. I would only pin things remembering that planning a birthday party is no indicator of my self worth. As long as Adelaide felt loved, nothing else mattered. But, I had written desserts on the invitation…so I was locked into providing something to eat/drink. We had sugar cookies, vanilla ‘button’ candies, marshmallows, and a hot cocoa station. It was my first time making sugar cookies completely from scratch. I can’t eat them, but every single person said they were good. Or great. Or amazing. I used this recipe and added 1/4 tsp vanilla. I had so much fun. And since I knew I wouldn’t be able to get the shapes perfect on the buttons, I went with whimsical. Dave has teased me for using whimsical when I really mean that I am just not going to try as hard as I should. But I had several dozen to make, so whimsy won! And I loved being able to use our ‘fancy’ cake pedestals and candy dishes. Wedding gifts, pieces I inherited from both sides of our family, and even some pieces from my sister’s beautiful wedding reception. adelaide birthday blog 6 adelaide birthday blog 5 adelaide birthday blog 7 adelaide birthday blog 4 adelaide birthday blog 8 adelaide birthday blog 2 Every year, we decorate a Christmas tree for Adelaide. It’s how I ease the struggle of being a December baby. I made all the garland and sewed little foam ornaments. It also turned out exactly how I imagined it would…and the parts that are somewhat wonky are whimsical. Graham wanted to know what we had a pirate tree this year. “I know it’s a piwate twee, cuz X marks da spot.” Fun fact: if your tree needs to be raised up just a few inches {due to a curious 14-month-old} just throw it in a planter and add a bunch of pinto beans. True story. adelaide birthday blog 14 adelaide birthday blog 9 adelaide birthday blog 13 adelaide birthday blog 16 adelaide birthday blog 15 I also made some Piwate Bawoons. And was told that they didn’t look anything like buttons. Because buttons are plastic and plates are paper. And I need Jesus to teach me how to do fings better. The birthday girl loved them and kept saying, “HI!” to them. So there, tiny critic. adelaide birthday blog 10 Since Adelaide is now 3, we will slowly transition her from bibs to drool scarves and drool handkerchiefs. A friend who has already made Adelaide four drool scarves {at $5 each, they are a phenomenal deal!}, made matching ones for Miss Crumbs. Love. Her other present was a Lalaloopsy tea set we found on clearance at TJMaxx. I already asked if you love them, right? Because I really do. I heart TJMaxx. adelaide birthday blog 11 adelaide birthday blog 12 Waiting for guests to arrive… adelaide birthday blog 20 adelaide birthday blog 22 adelaide birthday blog 19 adelaide birthday blog 23 adelaide birthday blog 18 And check out this tall kneeling. Woot! adelaide birthday blog 21 Party time! We had lots of family come celebrate our little doll! My brother, sissy-in-law, and their three kids were even here from Cambodia. It was such a blessing! adelaide birthday blog 24 adelaide birthday blog 27 adelaide birthday blog 26adelaide birthday blog 31 adelaide birthday blog 36 adelaide birthday blog 37 adelaide birthday blog 29adelaide birthday blog 32 adelaide birthday blog 30 adelaide birthday blog 28 adelaide birthday blog 35 adelaide birthday blog 34 PRESENTS! Adelaide always gets help with this part. Or we would just spend a lot of time watching her eat tissue paper. One of my favorite ways to keep track of who gave what: the person who brought the gift opens it with the birthday kid! It makes thank you card time a cinch, since I have a record of everything in the photos. adelaide birthday blog 39 adelaide birthday blog 40 adelaide birthday blog 41 adelaide birthday blog 42 adelaide birthday blog 43 adelaide birthday blog 45 adelaide birthday blog 46 adelaide birthday blog 47 adelaide birthday blog 48 adelaide birthday blog 49 adelaide birthday blog 50 adelaide birthday blog 51 adelaide birthday blog 52 Time for COOKIES! We did cookies sans icing, since we knew there would be 9 kids under 9 eating cookies in the living room. Plus, it allowed the Birthday Girl to feed herself! Adelaide loved the cookies, but was very confused by the singing. Adorable. adelaide birthday blog 53 adelaide birthday blog 54 adelaide birthday blog 55 adelaide birthday blog 56 adelaide birthday blog 57 adelaide birthday blog 58 adelaide birthday blog 66 adelaide birthday blog 68 adelaide birthday blog 69 Sidenote: Dave had the brilliant idea to make a last-minute trip to Walmart to get coffee cups with lids. It was a lifesaver having to-go cups for the hot cocoa bar and freshly-brewed Starbucks Italian Roast. My favorite birthday party hack we have been using this year: just open all the presents and let everyone play with them. It is so much fun! Play. Eat. Drink. Enjoy one another. It was a beautiful chaos! adelaide birthday blog 44 adelaide birthday blog 62 adelaide birthday blog 63 adelaide birthday blog 59 adelaide birthday blog 76 adelaide birthday blog 61 adelaide birthday blog 74 adelaide birthday blog 70 adelaide birthday blog 71 adelaide birthday blog 72 adelaide birthday blog 60 adelaide birthday blog 77 adelaide birthday blog 73 adelaide birthday blog 88 adelaide birthday blog 84 adelaide birthday blog 87 adelaide birthday blog 81 adelaide birthday blog 85 adelaide birthday blog 83 adelaide birthday blog 67 adelaide birthday blog 65 adelaide birthday blog 64 adelaide birthday blog 89 adelaide birthday blog 86 adelaide birthday blog 79 adelaide birthday blog 80 And this one of ALL my mom’s grandchildren in one room. A lot of prayers were answered in this moment. Nine children from two different continents. Such a sweet cacophony… adelaide birthday blog 75 And then everyone went home. And the Birthday Girl snuggled up with her Daddy and took a nap…while initiating her new Lalaloopsy tea pot lid into the toy family. adelaide birthday blog 90

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Our Little Doll was Cute as a Button and Turned THREE! {Throwing a Lalaloopsy Party for a toddler with special needs…}

  1. […] case scenario’ stuff pointed to her using a walker around her 3rd birthday. Well, we just celebrated our little doll, and that walker is still in storage. We actually had it out for months in her room. I wanted it […]

  2. […] at least my top half looked gorgeous for Adelaide’s birthday. The blouse was a surprise gift from a really awesome friend who may or may not own a mobile […]

  3. […] year, Adelaide gets a decorated Christmas Tree for her birthday. We have a little three foot tree from her Great Granny. Actually, our regular family tree is also […]

  4. […] item in each of our shoebox gifts. I chose the craft foam ornaments I made for Adelaide’s Lalaloopsy party last December. I loved those buttons and snowmen so much. It was a precious moment to pack […]

  5. […] We have always decorated a birthday tree for Adelaide. Poor December baby. It’s about the worst to share a birthday month with Baby Jesus. People try to combine your birthday and Christmas presents. No one can attend your parties, because their December calendars fill up months in advance. (I actually texted our families in August with Adelaide’s birthday party date and an approximate time.) As a consolation prize, Adelaide gets a tree at her party. […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

