How Old Is She?

Adelaide is 3-years-old. And this past weekend, she was called “an adorable baby” and “a precious 12-month-old” and someone said in a weird baby voice “pwetty baby, don’t you think mommy should let you get out of that baby stroller and try to walk?”…ugh. In a stroller, with baby bibs, Adelaide confuses people. She is usually viewed at about 2 years old. I get “are the girls twins?” on every outing…even though Bess is 15 months old. I would hate to find out that Adelaide can understand every word and is wondering why her mom doesn’t correct all these people. Sometimes, it’s just easiest to walk away. One woman asked if she was almost two. I replied, “She just had her 3rd birthday! She loved her party!” Then, the woman said the longest “ooooooooooohhhhhhhhh” in the history of all conversations between two complete strangers at a theme park in Branson, Missouri. But it was still better than this encounter two hours later: “Hmmm. She seems way too old for that stroller. Why is she wearing a bib? And cloth diapers? Shouldn’t she be pottytrained? Since you wear the other one, I guess you are one of those moms who babies her kids. Typical.” I was about to remove my earrings when some other women stepped in. I just want to take Adelaide out in public. I don’t mind actual questions. I just mind the judgmental comments or pitiful sighs. And when we return next year, she will be in a wheelchair. It may actually be better, because then people will just avoid eye contact or say other weird things like the oh-so-amazing “is there something wrong with her?” and my favorite “at least she’s pretty”…just stop talking, please. I can’t control a lot about Adelaide, but there is this one thing that Dave and I have discussed. Bibs. The bibs make Adelaide look younger than she really is…and, even though this is a first world problem, they make her big girl outfits look babyish. We decided to transition her from baby bibs to drool handkerchiefs and drool scarves. But mostly scarves, because they are pretty. We have a friend who makes them for us, and Adelaide gets those for photos, milestones, holidays, and formal occasions. But I am wanting to make everyday ones. Here is the part where I want to stop and publish before I step out of my comfort zone. But, I have been trying very hard to allow other people to bless us. If you have scraps that are 16″ x 24″ (or 16” x 48 would be even better…) and you want to send them our way, I will turn them into drool scarves for Adelaide. There. I said it. Adelaide has almost 3 dozen bibs she goes through in a matter of days. If you would like to help me out with your scrap fabric, let me know in the comments. And now that we are done with that awkwardness, let’s all look at this adorable girl. In her big girl scarf.

image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “How Old Is She?

  1. suestark says:

    What kind of fabric? Are they the infinity scarfs? Made from 16″X24″ fabric? Do you cut it in half (2 pieces 8″X24″), sew them end to end and then make them into scarves? I’m nosey because I can make them for you if you give me the details!

    Like

    • Lyndse says:

      Her nice ones are actually close to 48 inches long before sewn and 16 across, but sewn in half. They are infinity. Like a tube. I figured her everyday ones could just be 8 x 44ish and not double-layered.

      Like

  2. My neice was born with 7 cysts pressing against her brain and prevented proper growth. She is now 9 years old, but has the cognitive abilites of a 3 year old. She does walk, but not very well. On outing, my sister has to use a special type of wheelchair/stroller. When Toria (short for Victoria) was a toddler, my sister would get all kinds of rude, crude, and abusive comments from complete strangers. Toria does not understand that she should not throw fits in a supermarket. She does not understand that one does not grab strangers to give them hugs. She does not understand that she has a disability. It is obvious now to strangers, but not so much when she was young. Though I do not have any fabric to offer, I want to offer you my sincerest appreciation for what you do daily. Those of us with “normal” children could never understand the depth of care, frustrations, and love that it takes to care for a disabled child. I do understand, but that is due to having a neice who will never be mentally older than a 3 year old. I love her as much as her “normal” sister. I spoil them equally. I do not claim to know how to raise Toria, and therefore, I never tell my sister how to raise her. May God bless you and your family. By the way, she is an adorable little girl!

    Like

  3. MamaM says:

    does it matter what kind of fabric? cotton? linen? fleece? i’m assuming soft, but not sure beyond that? shoot me your mailing address and i’ll send you some fabric. my mom was a seamstress and i had a sort of crafty edge but ended up with fabric… hanging out in my closet! email me it at mommymanguy-at-gmail !

    Like

  4. Jessica says:

    I have some very cute flannel fabric, where can I send it?

    Like

  5. Stephanie says:

    Yes, I’m sure I have some I can contribute! We’ll be in town this weekend so I’ll leave it up at the childcare desk on the lower level if we don’t see each other. Merry Christmas!

    Like

  6. SWulf says:

    I just need an address.
    She is a precious little one.
    God bless you.

    Like

  7. lianabeer says:

    Hello there,

    I am a Graduate Student at Rochester Institute of Technology getting my Master’s degree in Industrial Design and I’ve just found your blog. I’m working on my graduate thesis right now and I’m trying to find a way that design can have a positive impact on children with low and high muscle tone. I really need some input from parents of children with abnormal muscle tone and have put together a quick survey to take. If you wouldn’t mind taking a look at it and possibly sending it along to anyone you know who might be of help I would appreciate it more than you know. I would love to give you more information on my project if you’re interested! The link to the survey is: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/T5B7NSV.

    Thank you!

    -Liana
    http://lianabeer.wordpress.com (my blog tracks my design process up until now if you would like to see what I have done so far)

    Like

  8. Judith says:

    Dear Lyndse, I’ve been reading your blog for some time and I enjoy reading about your trials and chilrdrens’ antics. I have four children myself and love to sew. I’d love to send you some scarves!

    Like

  9. […] wanted to transition her from bibs to bibdanas and drool scarves. We ended up with enough fabric to sink the Ti…um, it was a lot of fabric. So many beautiful prints! I need to learn to sew. […]

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

