My Favorite Reads From 2014

In 2014, I made it a personal goal to read more for enjoyment. I was tired of every book containing crinkle pages and fewer sentences than a Mark Whalberg research paper.

I am a bookworm, but pretty picky. If I don’t like a book after 50 pages, I abandon it. I ditched Divergent and never looked back. Unless I am reviewing a book…which requires me to finish it like a plate of nasty meatloaf and just keep.moving.forward until I can write the review…I have no issues dropping stuff into the library return and moving on. I have deleted many unfinished books from my Kindle app. No shame.

Last year, I read quite a few books that didn’t have chew marks on them. Here are the ones I recommend.

Love Idol: Letting Go of Your Need for Approval and Seeing Yourself Through God’s Eyes by Jennifer Dukes Lee

Surprised By Motherhood: Everything I Never Expected About Being A Mom by Lisa-Jo Baker

The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters {caveat: there is a lot of language and other grown-up stuff…he’s a detective for goodness’ sake}

Say Goodbye To Survival Mode: 9 Simple Strategies to Stress Less, Sleep More, & Restore Your Passion For Life by Crystal Paine

The Club of Queer Trades by G.K. Chesterton

How To Be Rich: It’s Not What You Have. It’s What You Do With What You Have by Andy Stanley

More or Less: Choosing A Lifestyle of Excessive Generosity by Jeff Shinaburger

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

The Paradise War: Book One in the Song of Albion Trilogy by Stephen R. Lawhead

A Sense of the Resurrection: An Easter Experience for Families by Amanda White

The Nesting Place: It Doesn’t Have to Be Perfect to Be Beautiful by Myquillyn Smith

 

 

So, in the words of Ignacio, “Go! Read some books!”

 

1665 1666 1667

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Reads From 2014

  1. I love the club of your trades! You’ll have to try Four Faultless Felons also.

  2. […] house, my mantra was “It doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful!” {thank you, Nesting Place!} I was pretty confident by the time I arrived. I was ready to get my craft on. (Without a child up […]

  3. […] I guess it is time to reread one of my favorite books from last year. Because Adelaide and I are already […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

