Five Minute Friday | Plan

You are our surprise blessing. The one we didn’t even know we needed until you were created.

image

My clothes stopped fitting and the double line appeared. We were shocked and thrilled and scared and in love with you from day one.

image

I thought you were a boy. God knew you were a girl.

image

He laughed at my plans of child spacing.

image

You are free-spirited, yet constantly seeking my approval. You test the limits, but run to me when you are startled by your own strength.

image

You tell me to stop and you take my hand to drag me anywhere and everywhere when you are ready to go. You are small, but mighty.

image

You know exactly what you want and you don’t retreat from your stubbornness. Unless you want to nurse. Then you curl up into the curve of my body and surrender to sleep.

image

You are an ornery playmate to your older brother and a sweet companion to your older sister. Your grin speaks volumes about your thoughts, even when you are completely silent.

image

You weren’t in my plans, and God laughed. You were exactly what I didn’t know I needed.

image

Time’s up. Share your five unedited minutes of writing at katemotaung.com

image

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday | Plan

  1. graceglimmers says:

    so in love with her! God knew her. Our plans are not his…what beautiful blessing! I love her diapers, smiles, and your post crediting the Father God for her creation. Have a beautiful and restful weekend snuggling that little one! And the big 2! Jenn, FMF

    • joanneviola says:

      How very precious! God knew what you would need. To think she was ALWAYS in His plans even before time existed. So glad I stopped here from FMF. I think this is my 1st time here, so it is nice to “meet” you :)

  2. Oh that 3rd child. They are rumbustious and their own little people. I have one too and he too was under God’s plan, not ours. God knows what we need and when we need them, even these cute little surprises.

  3. Liz says:

    She’s so cute!

    And I have to say, I love your willingness to share a photo with laundry spread all over the floor! It may not seem like a big deal, but that alone causes me to see how open you are about your life. It’s beautiful! We all have those days, and it’s such a blessing when someone shares – because it allows another person the freedom to share.

    Visiting from FMF!

  4. […] up with a poignant post about raising a child with a rare disease. And then I will load a bunch of photos of a cloth diapered baby. I write what I feel like writing in the moment. And sometimes, a poop anecdote beats out something […]

  5. […] also lacked the courage to tell our new neurologist that I was already pregnant with a baby we hadn’t planned on. At all. “You may decide to have more children someday, after doing all the genetic […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

