Sorry, Girls, He’s Taken

Dave worked all day, went and helped a widow, then came home just in time for nighttime toothbrushing duty and putting our kids to bed.  Since we are actually celebrating our anniversary next weekend, I was surprised when he carried in a bag of goodies. I had mentioned last week in passing that I really wanted some wedding cake. He bought me a layered coconut cake. Which I ate while he was cooking me dinner.

image

I had also mentioned last month that I wanted Taken. I love vigilante justice movies. I ended up with Taken and Taken 2.

image

And this card. Who says the cobbler’s family never has shoes? I become absolutely giddy when my designing husband designs something for me.

image

TAK9N

Nine years ago, you took the heart of my good friend, Dave, and have since held it captive. If you were looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you….

…or at least, would make me a nightmare if I were trying to recover Dave’s heart. Lucky for you, he doesn’t want it back. Says you can keep it. Which begs the question, “What am I doing here, making yet another Taken film?” The answer: actors guild insurance. I can’t let them take it from me. I’m 63 years old for crying out loud.

Giddy, I tell you.

I love my witty, caring, gorgeous husband. Nine years. He took my heart, too. And I never want it back.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Sorry, Girls, He’s Taken

  1. […] we have now. Because it was worth it to start at the ground floor and build our intimacy together. Nine years and three kids later. Sex is different. We no longer dance around one another. We know what we […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

