We Are Still An Ampersand

It was Spring of 2010 when my mom surprised us with Switchfoot tickets. I was going to Cincinnati for a conference, and Dave was tagging along. Dave’s mom kept a baby Graham.

It was our first and last trip away without kids. We sang and danced through the concert. Strolled hand in hand through the art museum. Meandered through the farmer’s market. Toured the Creation Museum. Drove the bridges. Talked architecture. Just Dave & Lyndse.

This weekend will be our very first trip away without our three kids. And our first time away together since that lovely time in Cincinnati. We are headed to the place I was raised. Where Dave proposed. Where we honeymooned. The land of Graham’s first vacation.

No washing diapers, pouring bottles, cutting food, giving seizure meds, unloading a wheelchair, folding tiny laundry, singing/signing Old MacDonald, wiping poop from a 5-year-old’s bottom.

Just the two of us. A man and his bride. Reading books. Making love. Blasting our favorite music. Touring a castle. Talking about anything and everything and nothing. Enjoying one another with no distractions.

Of course we’ll miss our kids. We’re parents. We will talk about our three blessings. Wonder how they’re doing. Call our moms and ask to hear little voices.

But ‘The Ballews’ were a couple before they were a quintet. Dave & Lyndse. Just Dave & Lyndse. And we are going to hoard this time together like a dragon with his gold. Selfishly wrapped up in one another’s arms and gaze. For ninety blissful hours.

After we pack.

Someone pinch me as I include my honeymoon lingerie and leave the Transformers toothbrush…

image

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “We Are Still An Ampersand

  1. […] Dave and I drove 12 hours. I took that statement, filled with things too graphic to write here and everything my brain and body had hidden from me all those years, and I read it all. Didn’t skip a single word. With Dave holding my hand, and tapping the podium when I was reading too quickly for the stenographer, I made myself completely vulnerable. My story became known. […]

  2. […] then I returned to real life. Home from the hearing and our mini-getaway. And seeing people eye to eye was […]

  3. […] I needed to look beautiful for my anniversary getaway with my husband. Our first getaway in years. Haley has three kids, so she knows what a treat it is to get away with your […]

  4. […] few years later, we were Mr & Mrs David Ballew. Alex, who had introduced us, was our best man. My sister was my maid of honor. Dave and I danced […]

  5. […] and I were in Cincinnati the spring of 2010. I was attending a conference for Operation Christmas Child. He was exploring the […]

  6. […] I was relishing my 33rd birthday gift from my husband. Those shoes had just walked 4 miles with the love of my life. Those jeans were my first non-maternity pants of 2016…a 16W and covering the midsection of a […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

