We Took The Pixie Plunge

I tried everything to keep Adelaide’s long hair. Sprays, products, brushes, everything Pinterest had to offer. But Adelaide’s medication changed the texture of her hair, and everything that had been working just stopped. But her incessant head-thrashing hadn’t lessened, so we were spending more than 6 hours a week trying to keep her from looking feral.

adelaide pixie 7

After a couple hours in our bathtub with three products and three different hair tools, I screamed out, “That’s it! I’m never doing this again. Chop it off. I cannot live like this.” Adelaide had been screaming in my face the entire time. We ended up pulling her from the bathtub, hair still full of knots. Me sobbing. Dave looking like an orderly at a mental institution.

adelaide pixie 1adelaide pixie 20

The emotional decision to go short had been made, but I wasn’t sure how to do it. Adelaide doesn’t let people touch her head. Thank you, head measurements and eegs and glasses! We spent another week trying to set something up, which ended in another $60 of products and 2 hours just to get it untangled enough for scissors.

adelaide pixie 8

People fill spaces, especially silence, with awkwardness. When strangers didn’t know what to say about the disabled baby with the crossed eyes and drool, they would say, “At least she has pretty hair!” Even now, after her eye surgery, people still say, “That’s a nice wheelchair! And her hair is so beautiful!” “She can’t talk? Her hair is so gorgeous!” “What a pretty bottle and pretty hair.” Awkwardly filled silence. And always about her hair. Because her hair was beautiful. No matter what else we added to our special needs dance card, her hair remained beautiful.

adelaide pixie 2

You know when Jo March chops off her hair to buy the train ticket? Or when Anne Shirley must whack her hair off after it turns green? That’s what I felt like. Defeated. I can’t do for Adelaide all the things she needs…and I can’t even brush her hair. It’s a basic mom task that I couldn’t even do. It’s hard to even explain, because it sounds completely ridiculous. But I’m being honest here. Cutting hair = failure.

adelaide pixie 10adelaide pixie 11

 

But the beauty of it all was that we ended the day with the opposite being true.

Haley, my stylist and friend, came to our house and gave Adelaide the sweetest pixie cut. She spent more than an hour cutting and thinning, while I held Adelaide’s hands and sang along to her Rachel and the TreeSchoolers playlist on YouTube. I didn’t cry. I was so proud of myself. Adelaide didn’t cry until the last 7 minutes.

adelaide pixie 12adelaide pixie 13

 

Then, she ran her hands through her hair and shouted, “Addie AIR!” She loved that her fingers didn’t get stuck in her hair. She giggled as she thrashed on the floor and had zero knots. She just kept grabbing the healthy hair…all her split ends and tangles were gone.

adelaide pixie 21

 

The next morning, we went to an indoor playplace with some friends. A little boy came up and asked why “the little baby boy” was in a wheelchair. I explained that she was a girl and answered all his sweet questions. I felt that mom failure creep up. She looks like a little boy. In a dress.

adelaide pixie 3

Then, a total stranger came in, ruffled Adelaide’s hair, and said, “Her hair is so beautiful! So sassy!” It was silly, but I needed it. I just needed someone, anyone, to acknowledge that she was still that gorgeous little girl I had birthed. That I hadn’t turned her into Fantine. (As I type this, I realize I have some hair issues that require ice cream and counseling.)

adelaide pixie 14

The truth is that hair doesn’t define Adelaide. Just like her wheelchair doesn’t define her. But we have this ingrained desire to be seen as pretty. And our society often equates beauty with hair. Whether that’s right or wrong, I don’t know. One of my best friends lost all her hair to cancer, but she is still one of the most beautiful women I know. But Julie will also say she can’t wait to have her hair back.

adelaide pixie 15adelaide pixie 16

I want so many things for Adelaide that may or may not happen, but at least she gets to don a cute pixie with everything else going on in her little life. Her life’s not easy, but her hair is.

adelaide pixie 4

It takes us 30 seconds a day to brush it. She will wear hairbows and headbands for short stints of time. She doesn’t cry in the bathtub. She even wore her glasses without crying.

adelaide pixie 5adelaide pixie 6

Before the cut, Haley held my hand when I couldn’t even explain why I felt like I was failing my little girl. And she just kept reminding me that I was actually loving Adelaide in a big way by saying goodbye to her long hair. We rejoiced together after taking the pixie plunge. And how I wished we had done it earlier. So much earlier.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “We Took The Pixie Plunge

  1. Rachelle says:

    Her haircut IS super cute. I’ve never seen a little girl with a pixie cut that stacked so nicely in the back. Most little girls have hair that is too fine for a cut to lay like that. It suits her so well, and wouldn’t look as cute on most little girls as it does her.

    That being said, I understand the feelings about the hair. We’ve put off cutting Katherine’s hair, and I dread the day it happens. She rubs her hair into her pillow, the rug, the couch…really anything. So she constantly has snarls in her hair and will NOT let me brush it or wash it properly.

    I had to cut two big chunks out of it tonight, because I just couldn’t get the knots out.

  2. Julie says:

    I love th pixie – and your decision to do what was best for you both! And the picture of A in the pink, with you on the right – stunning!!! She’s gorgeous and looks just like you!

  3. What a lovely story!
    She is so beautiful, just because she is!! Her hair looks fabulous!
    My baby is on medication to surpress insulin (she has the opposite of diabetes, causing dangerously low blood sugar) and the side effect is increased hair growth. Now, she was born with lots of hair anyway, but within a few months she looked a bit like a baby monkey. I feel like she is defined by her hair a lot, it is a constant source of comment from strangers or a silence filler like you said. Now she is one everything goes in the hair- peanut butter and banana being 2 of the worst, and screams and cries when it is brushed and washed. I think she too will eventually have to don the pixie do! I think it is super sweet for a little girl!

    😘 xx

  4. Ali Armstrong says:

    Awwww! Adelaide has such a beautiful sweet face that she would look gorgeous with a bald head OR dreadlocks! But her pixie cut IS super cute and I can totally understand that feeling that creeps up when we think we’re going to be judged as an inadequate mother :( AND that feeling when you’re trying to untangle knots and the recipient of said care is majorly unimpressed!
    Good for you for taking the plunge! You’re an awesome mom :)

  5. […] couple days after Adelaide’s pixie plunge, I went to visit Haley at the salon. She has been doing my hair for a long time. We’ve been […]

  6. […] It was time for another pixie cut! […]

  7. Jocelyn Provost says:

    Oh ya, I could have written this one. I cut her hair myself with clippers because salons have rules about the client needing to stay still. I also ask myself why it took so long to decide a pixie cut was the way to go. It has taken 4 months for her to stop panicking when we condition her hair.

Please Share Your Thoughts

