Handwriting On The Wall

I am feeling somewhat empty lately. Not in a spiritual way. Just in a bleh way. I folded 9 loads of laundry tonight. Started and deleted two blog posts. And felt like I had nothing to offer anyone. I can’t catch my breath. Yet I feel completely lethargic.

It’s probably fatigue. Or maybe the fact that someone asked me for advice on how to make money blogging. And I was totally transparent with her about how I don’t. Another person asked how to get people engaged. My ‘reader engagement’ is dismal. It made me ask again, “Lyndse, why are you writing?”

Not even sure. I’d say it’s a mixture of record keeping and hoping that someone who also feels empty gets something out of it. But I won’t just write about nothing, just to keep the blog from becoming an internet relic. And I really can’t keep writing the same thing over and over again with different titles.

So I’m taking a break from the blog.

We have VBS this week. I am fully expecting my brain, and possibly my heart, to check out for awhile. I am in the toddler room. For twenty hours.

All energy this week will be used to keep my girls and the toddlers of the kindergarten through sixth grade teachers happy, healthy, and learning something about Jesus. And that’s what I need, too.

Just a burst of childlike excitement about anything and a reminder of Jesus’ character.

I don’t know how long I’ll be gone. But I’m praying the Holy Spirit will give me something fresh in my hiatus. He gives creativity and inspiration to those who ask. I need some soul-searching, and I think this is the time for it.

My Beth Moore study has been phenomenal. But it’s also given me a lot to think about right now. You can tell I love it. Those notes are just a glimpse of all that I’m taking away from it. And my handwriting screams: I’m writing down truth as fast as I can.

I’ll be back when I can write here with that same fervor.

image

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Handwriting On The Wall

  1. jenz3977 says:

    Enjoy your break. I personally enjoy reading about you and your family. I don’t know how I came across your blog, possibly your lovely post about Addie on The Mighty. I read your blog every single time there’s a post.
    Take care xx

    Like

    • Ali Armstrong says:

      Likewise (I read you posts as soon as they arrive in my mailbox too!)
      That said, I understand the feeling empty part. Sounds like taking time to refill your proverbial well is a good idea :) Hope to hear from you again!

      Liked by 1 person

Please Share Your Thoughts

