Five Minute Friday | Focus

Ready, set, go…

Two of our children died this week. My brain is so fuzzy. I wake up in the middle of the night and wonder why I’m not nauseated. Confused that I can sleep on my back. On my stomach. I don’t need to pee. And it makes me sob. Because I’ve been unpregnant for only a few days. Yesterday, two-year-old Bess came up to pat my belly. “Babies!” I can’t correct her. I just can’t. But Graham does it for me. “No, Bess, our babies died. They are dead now.” Bess giggles and runs off. Graham asks for chocolate milk. I go cry in the laundry room and try to pull it together. But I’m constantly reminded that they are gone. My belly is smaller today than it was last night. My breasts are actually shrinking. My hormones are starting to level out. And I hate it. I want my hips to ache. I want to be vomiting. I long to be peeing every 2 hours. I can’t have it back. It’s over. And everyone keeps asking if I’m okay. I smile and say, “I’m doing okay.” But I want to scream, “Of course I’m not okay! I just packed up all my babies’ clothes. All my maternity clothes…except for these jeans, because I’m so swollen from 7 liters of iv fluids. And I just want to cry for an hour until I can’t cry anymore, but I have apples to cut and diapers to change and pee sheets to wash.” Because life keeps going on. There’s barely any grieving time when you have 3 littles who need a mom. And how ironic is it that I can’t focus on being a mom to 3, because I’m aching from being a mom to 5?

Time’s up..join me for your own five minutes of raw, unedited writing at katemotaung.com

image

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday | Focus

  1. MamaM says:

    hugs to you, friend.

    I wanted to also share this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyUPz6_TciY

    Like

  2. hannahjiejie says:

    here from FMF… so many prayers going your way.

    Like

  3. literacygirl says:

    Please know that we are praying for you & crying too.

    Like

  4. Prayers for you. This must have been a difficult post to write, but I hope it helped you process your emotions. Thanks for sharing so honestly.

    Like

  5. May the Lord continue to hold you during this hard time…

    Like

Please Share Your Thoughts

