She Walked

We’ve waited more than three years for Adelaide to walk. You would think 1,000+ days would’ve been ample time to prepare me for that moment, but I was breathless in the parking lot when her paraprofessional gave me the news. And then I was jumping. Crying. Shouting. Giving Adelaide kisses. The next day, I saw this video of her first steps. I have watched it close to three dozen times. Adelaide walked for the very first time on January 27, 2016.

image

image

image

image

And the next day, she tripled her distance.

image

She walked.

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “She Walked

  1. literacygirl says:

    Yay!! She looks so proud of herself in the video. :-) What a beautiful blessing!

  2. S says:

    Your little Adelaide reminds me so much of Melanie in the children’s book, “Out of My Mind.” I wish everyone could realize how so very smart, determined, and beautiful Adelaide is!

  3. […] the next family as much as it blessed us. We had some pretty awesome dance parties with it. And the skills Adelaide developed during her Upsee time are […]

  4. […] Wednesday, Adelaide had 2.5 hours of physical therapy at school. She spent half an hour walking the halls with assistance. We then spent two hours in a wheelchair clinic. It’s our 7th adjustment to […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

