Because Frost Was A Farmer, Too

“Miss Bergen, I love listening to that Robert Frost guy. If I could meet him, I think he wouldn’t care I can’t read yet. We could talk farming and I’d tell him ‘Nothing Gold Can Stay’ is my favorite, but ‘Out, Out’ hits too close to home. I think he’d like my crops and I’d show him that paragraph I wrote last week. It has three sentences. I think he’d like me, cuz I’m a farmer, too. Thanks for not reading kid stuff to us.”

I spent a month reading Robert Frost to my class of 8th/9th grade non-readers. Mostly boys. It was how we ended class everyday. 

I read my first Frost when I was 6 and it was love at first read. And I can’t read it now without thinking of those boys. Their eyes wide and not watching the clock. Because Frost was a farmer, too.

Tagged , , ,

Please Share Your Thoughts

