The Olde Blogge

I recently did a survey over at the Little House In The City Facebook page. The results supported what I had already guessed: more people follow the snippets on the page than read these blog posts. 

I can’t blame people. Reading blogs takes time. Most of us don’t have that time. I read a couple blogs, and not even regularly. 

My last several posts have had fewer than 20 reads each. The Facebook page gets between 10 and 100 reads on each post. So I’m in a weird place. I don’t want to use Facebook for long form stuff, but I want you, our friends, to actually see what I’m posting. 

I was going to make changes after the survey. Then I decided not to make changes. I’ll still post stuff here. I’ll still post on Facebook. I’ll still post on Instagram

The numbers don’t really mean anything to me anymore. I wouldn’t even notice, except WordPress and Facebook want to constantly remind me about current stats. They want me to pay for you to see more. Pay to have a fancier page. Pay to be noticed. Since the blog doesn’t make us any income, I can’t justify paying for any of that stuff. I don’t care to either. 

I’ve been blogging four+ years, and knew I’d never get rich or go viral or become famous or any of that jazz. This blog is just a place for me to share my heart. For a couple dozen people. And I’m okay with that. 

If you want to see photos of our daily life, you might want to follow the Facebook page. Or our Instagram. It’s all kinds of random. Our life is a mix of special needs, miscarriage, pregnancy, food allergies, public school, homeschool, abuse survival, and memes I like. That’s basically what you find on our other platforms. 

I guess all this is to say: 2017 will be more of the same. For whatever that’s worth. I won’t close it all down, but I’m not adding anything awesome either. Unless you find this awesome…which I do. Because I’m a gigantic word nerd. 

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “The Olde Blogge

  1. jenz3977 says:

    Well I for one am very glad that you are still posting on here because I like the layout of WordPress. Whenever you post, I am one of those people who reads every single post. Love your blog.
    Aspiemum from Australia

  2. literacygirl says:

    Me too, me too! I was afraid I’d miss your posts since I’m not on FB anymore. Thank you for sharing your words with us. :-)

  3. Amber Wiseman says:

    I love reading your blog and do follow you on Facebook, but don’t always see your posts. I get an e-mail when you have a new post and almost always read them right away.

  4. Sara says:

    I enjoy reading your blog – please continue.

  5. […] and Facebook like to notify me when things are at an all-time low. I already shared my thoughts about it, but I wanted to make it […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

